

September 20, 2020

Re: SUPPORT OF Bill #65-20

Dear Councilmember Lacey and Members of the Anne Arundel County Council:

MBIA supports Anne Arundel County Council Bill No. 65-20. This bill proposes to allow flexibility in the MXD-R district to provide much needed workforce housing.

This bill is another important step in the County's efforts to increase its supply of workforce housing and change the mixed-use requirements to better serve the market in each project area. Allowing workforce housing in lieu of office, in mixed-use projects where the office market is saturated with approved office square footage, is critical to addressing the needs of the community. For years mixed-use projects have not been able to address the actual needs of the community because of minimum use requirements that must be adhered to even though there is no market. There is over 4,000,000 square feet of office use approved in these mixed-use projects and less than 1,000,000 square feet has been constructed prior to the effects of COVID-19 on our community.

Mixed-use projects are located in Priority Funding Areas, and the developers of most of these projects have provided infrastructure upgrades that exceed the project needs, which also provides value to the overall community. By allowing Workforce Housing to replace an Office use in a mixed-use project, the Council recognizes this change in the market and the need for workforce housing.

We strongly support Bill #65-20 as proposed and encourage the Council to vote favorably for its passage. Thank you for proposing what is right for the community.

If you have any questions about these comments or would like to discuss our position further, please do not hesitate to contact me abailey@marylandbuilders.org or (202) 815-4445 or Chapter Chair Marilee Tortorelli at (443) 336-3500 or mtortorelli@mragta.com.

Best regards,

Angelica Bailey, Esq. Vice President of Government Affairs Maryland Building Industry Association

cc: County Executive Steuart Pittman
Councilmember Allison Pickard, Chair
Councilmember Andrew Pruski
Councilmember Nathan Volke
Councilmember Amanda Fiedler
Councilmember Lisa Brannigan Rodvien
Councilmember Jessica Haire